Warren Slocum Will Not Seek Re-election

Warren Slocum, Chief Elections Officer & Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder

Today, Warren Slocum advised the staff in our office, San Mateo County leaders and the public at large of his intention not to seek re-election. 

In his own words…

I am announcing today that I will not seek re-election as San Mateo County’s Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder. It has been an honor, a privilege, and a pleasure to serve the people of this great county.

I was first elected in 1986 and have served in government since 1976 – over thirty years. I am ready to consider doing other things – making other contributions to our community.

During my terms of office, I have had the good fortune to work with some of the best and brightest elected officials and the finest men and woman in government. The residents of San Mateo County are blessed with a stable, well-run county government.

My father always taught me that one person can make a difference. I believe this to be true. This belief is shared among the people that have worked for me and together we have created a legacy of excellence and innovation. While I will miss these outstanding men and women, I will find new opportunities and continue to make a difference in the community.

 My current term of office will end in January 2011. I will use the remaining months of my term to complete some of my initiatives. I have talked with the County Manager and the President of the Board of Supervisors and made my plans known.

 The election for all elected county positions will be on June 8; the filing period for these offices will open on February 16 and close on March 12.  However, as in my case, if an incumbent does not file by March 12, the filing period is extended to March 17.

2 responses to “Warren Slocum Will Not Seek Re-election

  1. I just want to thank Mr. Warren Slocum for his service to this County and his treatment of all poll workers throughout the County. His legacy will widespread, and I am sure this county will miss his leadership.

  2. I had the pleasure and honor to work with Warren Slocum for 25 years; I couldn’t be more blessed. The leadership, support, inspiration, dedication to the public cause, that you absorb from this great “chief” will last a lifetime. San Mateo County and its constituents will miss a great leader. Thank you, Warren, for the years of work and dedication in the construction of a better future.

Leave a Reply

